Gym sessions between runs?

Everything about the training process, including programs, experiences, etc.

ripcord

Gym sessions between runs?

Postby ripcord » Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:06 pm

Hi all!

I'm training for a 10k that's happening 5 weeks from now. It's going well - hoping to keep a steady 10.5kmh race speed and finish in around 57 mins.

I started training a couple of months ago with 5ks every other day. My current training schedule is:
Mondays: 7K at race speed
Wednesday: 5K at race speed
Friday: 10K at slower speed (around 9.5 kmh)
Sunday: 9K at race speed (following the actual race route). I'm struggling when I get near the end of this!

There are a few hills on the race route that I run a little bit slower over. I'm trying to go to the gym on Tuesdays and Thursdays to do leg work to help with the hills.

Has anyone any advice on what execises to do? I've googled it, and I've come up with:
Leg press,
Calf raises,
Squats,
Lunges with extra weight

But it's all a bit haphazard at the moment. Also some of the exercises work the same muscles - so I'm worried I might strain them.

Any help or links to sample gym leg plans would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

IronColl
Lynn Williams

Re: Gym sessions between runs?

Postby IronColl » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:31 pm

squats, lunges, bridges and planks
If all that you read is everything you believe then let go, then let go, then let go.

Nothing will change if you never choose.

2018 goals: May half marathon, September half marathon

narr
Tom Longboat

Postby narr » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:55 am

Hi ripcord,

Welcome to the site!