Hill intervals

An environment where you can be open & frank about your quest for speed

Futureisnow
Percy Williams

Hill intervals

Postby Futureisnow » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:37 pm

My understanding about running theory is not very deep, so I would like to know if I am doing this properly, and understand the approach correctly. It's my first time doing anything specifically for speed before a run (Oct 16).

I can run an 8 minute mile or better on a flat. I'd like to improve my speed and be able to carry it longer, up to to 5K.

What I noticed is that my usual pace is around 150-160 steps per minute.

To improve steps per minute, I set the incline on a treadmill (cold/raining) to 5% and the speed to 6.3 mph or a 9.3 minute mile. I found this allowed me to work at a 180 turnover. I did 400m repeats for about half an hour (totalling 2.5 miles including recovery). My HR zone ranged in the 65-80% zone after 8 minutes perhaps.

Running up hill enforced shorter steps and should increase leg strength and strength endurance. Is this about right?

As well, I want to improve my pushoff to generate more force to lengthen my stride. So I am performing hill bounding. I get that these are more like plyometics in motion, done with focus on pushoff and raising the knee. This should tend to improve strength of the calf and hip flexors. Is this about right?

So when I put them together I end up with a longer stride and faster pace, producing a better time. Is this essentially the goal of strength and speed training?

The only other thing I am doing for speed is running km or mile intervals (depending on how I feel). This is where I would hope to see the improvement.

So in total 3 speed workouts per week, with 3 originally but now 2 weeks prior to the race. Would this be sufficent to make a difference over 5K do you think?

I'll leave about 72 hours of rest/recovery prior the race.

Thanks!

SteveF
Bill Crothers

Re: Hill intervals

Postby SteveF » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:30 am