Injuries and self-care research

The grisly details and tales of the road back

Trish_C
Percy Williams

Injuries and self-care research

Postby Trish_C » Mon May 06, 2013 11:42 am

Hi everyone. I am a PhD student at the University of Calgary and an active runner. My research involves looking at self-care practices and the interplay between expert and lay medical knowledge. I am most interested in the exchange of knowledge that occurs in online forums like yours where everyone shares a mixture of experiential and medical expertise. I have received ethics approval for my project from both the University of Calgary and Red Deer College, and I am about to start my primary research, part of which involves looking at the injury forum of your website. Over the next few months, I'll be participating in the forum and then later asking for some volunteers for face-to-face interviews. Some of my observations will be recorded and reported in my research. Please let me know if you have any questions!
Last edited by Trish_C on Tue May 07, 2013 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

La
Kevin Sullivan

Re: Injuries and self-care research

Postby La » Mon May 06, 2013 12:11 pm

Trish_C wrote:where everyone shares a mixture of experiential and medical expertise.

There's no shortage of that here! :lol:
"Maybe I will be my own inspiration." - UltraMonk (Laura)
"Everywhere is walking distance if you have enough time." - Steven Wright

scrumhalfgirl
Lynn Williams

Postby scrumhalfgirl » Mon May 06, 2013 1:20 pm

Interesting! My husband (PhD candidate in exercise physiology) and I were just talking about this phenomenon over the weekend in reference to an email list I'm on (TriRudy) where there was a recent discussion about concussions.
Jesse's 2017 Plans
April - Boston Marathon
May - Sporting Life Ottawa 10K
May - Ottawa Half Marathon

Jo-Jo
Kevin Sullivan

Postby Jo-Jo » Mon May 06, 2013 2:49 pm

La wrote:
Trish_C wrote:where everyone shares a mixture of experiential and medical expertise.