Ottawa treatment for crackly knees?

The grisly details and tales of the road back

chrish

Ottawa treatment for crackly knees?

Postby chrish » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:33 pm

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. I did a search for this topic but didn't find anything, apologies if it's been covered before.

I'm a 39 year old runner based in Ottawa, I've been running for 10 years and have done races from 5k up to a couple of full marathons. I have little kids so I've been doing relatively low mileage the last few years. Despite my low training volume, I had a painful bout of runner's knee in my left knee in Summer 2015, it took quite a few months to clear up. In summer 2016 my right knee (the other one) started crackling when I squat. Then in fall 2016 my left knee started making an audible 'snap' with each step going up stairs. My knees are loud but there is no pain in either.

I saw my regular GP and my regular ART practitioner and neither have been able to really help me - while there is no pain now these sounds make me uneasy and I don't want to progress to the point of serious damage. Can anyone recommend a pro in Ottawa who really knows knees, be they a sports doctor, athletic therapist, or physiotherapist?

Thanks!
Chris

deerdree
Kevin Sullivan

Re: Ottawa treatment for crackly knees?

Postby deerdree » Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:04 pm

this is an interesting question - i have the same crackling and, like you, i find it disconcerting because it sounds like the movement is eating away at my knee cartilage.

everything i've read says that crepitus is generally harmless unless there is pain associated with the movement. is that what your GP and ART said as well? i'm a little bit concerned that if you go looking for someone to help with this, you'll be wasting your time and money. but i understand your worry because it bugs me, too, and i have visions of knee replacements in my future.

do you take any supplements? glucosamine, for example? fish oil?

(also, welcome to RM!)