A run in Frontenac Provincial Park

You didn't need those toenails, did you?
Albertatraildog
Bruce Kidd

A run in Frontenac Provincial Park

Postby Albertatraildog » Mon Oct 23, 2006 4:01 pm

It was one of those rare perfect runs.

Although I’m now a resident of Alberta, I recently found myself in Kingston Ontario on a business trip. One afternoon, I got away early and headed out for a trail run at Frontenac Provincial Park. The park is located a few miles north of Kingston, Ontario.

The week before, I learned that local runners were holding a “fat-ass” style (informal) race in the park. Unfortunately, the race would be held before my arrival. Years earlier, and prior to my re-birth as a trail-runner, I had lived in Kingston, but I’d never been to Frontenac. Boy, I didn’t know what I was missing.

Before hitting the trails, I stopped in at the Park Office. Visitors are required to register their car and pay a $10 entry fee. I hadn’t yet decided on the route, but there were plenty of options. Frontenac boasts 160 km of trails, generally ranging in length from 13 – 21 km. The Ranger suggested one of the shorter routes, which I assume he figured would be about right given the time of day. I think he was a little bit wary when I explained that I was looking to cover ~20 km (there were roughly 3 hours of daylight left – plenty). I suppose most park visitors are hikers, not runners, for whom 20 km would be a full days journey, especially under loaded packs. I’d much rather travel light and fast.

I decided on the Big Salmon Lake Loop. The map calls it 19km, but this is measured from the Park Office. Instead I drove up the park access road to the Big Salmon Lake Trail Head, making it about 15km. Only one other car was in the parking lot.

They call this area Land O’ Lakes for good reason. Canadian Shield rocks and boulders, deciduous forests, and thousands of lakes and rivers define the Frontenac region.